May 4th Charity Speaking Event: for a little girl named Charlotte

This has been a great year and a half of speaking engagements for me but one particular request caught me by surprise and made me realize just how good I have it.

I met Tamron USA rep, Patty Gregitis,  a few years back at the New Jersey Federation of Camera Club’s annual event called Photorama.  We had spoken a few times over the years at the event and she struck me as a very down to earth, nice person, so I wasn’t too surprised when I received an e-mail from her a few days ago.  The contents of her e-mail and speaking request did make me sit back and realize just how blessed I am with Pura, Greg, and Ian.  Patty told me about an employee of Unique Photo, Michael Downy, who was a great guy, always helping others, asking for nothing in return but now he needed some help for his daughter, Charlotte.  Patty was putting together a fundraiser for Charlotte to help with her numerous medical expenses.  You can read her story like I did, here.   After reading about her plight I jumped at the chance to help out and I hope you all can do so too.

On Friday evening on May 4th, I will be presenting my program: “Photographing Wildlife – from Animals to Birds” at the Unique Photo store; 123 Us Hwy 46 Fairfield, NJ from 6:30 – 8:30pm.  The suggested donation is $25 per session, which includes my presentation Friday night,  a “Photo Walk on Saturday the 5th (3 different times available) as well as a social event later that afternoon, with all the proceeds going to Charlotte.  I will not be leading any of the walks due to a workshop commitment, but I see some very talented pros who have also donated their time for this worthwhile event.  You can find all the information here. I hope to make it back from my Connecticut workshop in time for the social and be there to help give away some great door prizes as well.  You can also sign up or make your contribution on Unique Photo’s site or by calling: 973-377-2007.  I hope you can come join me on Friday night where I will share my passion and techniques for wildlife photography. 

I have never met Michael or Charlotte but I hope my small part in this fight will bring them some much-needed hope and with any luck, help brighten Charlotte’s day and get her on the road to recovery! 


***Update 5/9/2012  Patty Gregitis has informed me that because of your generous support we raised over $5,000 for Charlotte!!!  Thank you everyone who supported this event!!!***

5 Responses to “May 4th Charity Speaking Event: for a little girl named Charlotte”

  1. Maureen Allen Says:

    Charlotte’s story brought tears to my eyes, and gave me great pride in having you as a friend. Your efforts on her behalf are very giving and kind. My best to Charlotte and her family, and to you Roman.

  2. You did a great job on the workshop, Roman. I’m happy to have won the gift card at the event so I can get HDR instruction from you in Lambertville. Thanks for your support and donation.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

